JuneFox

By JuneFox

Phalaenopsis Orchid

I'm really excited as i'm flying out to Venice on Friday for a photography workshop photographing the Venice Carnival which takes place there every year. 

As you do before you go away, you have to pick up a few bits! So i've treated myself to the 135mm f/2 lens which, as you can see here, I have been playing with taking pics of my mini orchid. I also decided it was time for a new tripod and head - my current one is a brute, weighing in at 3.22kg. Although I love it, it's not very travel friendly!  After a bit of research, i've opted for the Gitzo GT2542T Series 2 Traveller carbon fibre tripod and a Vanguard BBH-100 ball head.  They arrived today and i'm really pleased with how sturdy, compact, easy to operate and precise they are, with the added bonus of only being a lightweight 1.45kg. Really looking forward to testing them out in Venice. 

I apologise in advance if I don't get the chance to comment on your lovely journals whilst i'm away - but will catch up with all you all when I return. No idea how much free time i'll have, but I hope to be able to blip whilst over there!

Just a quick reminder of our upcoming blip meets:
Friday 27th February - TowerBridge/South Bank Night Photography Meet
(details on the blip forum)
Saturday 28th February - Butterflies at Wisley (hosted by Paul Knowles)
(details on our SLPH Facebook page)
March blip meet - Dungeness (further details to follow)
Everyone is welcome  - would be great to see you!  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.