Life Savors

By osuzanna

The Honeymooners

Since Valentine’s Day will be the 34th anniversary of our first date, I thought I might join in the “Big Moment” tonight although I think I am a bit late in doing so.  I will be away without him for Valentine’s day this year for the first time so tonight we had a special dinner to celebrate. 

Our big moment was March 12, 1983.  We left the next day for our honeymoon. This is us on our honeymoon, looking quite sunburnt from the Caribbean sun. We didn’t have an official photographer at our wedding. Some of our friends took the photos and most are still in slides and haven’t yet been digitized.  One thing we have realized over the years is that we don’t have a lot of pictures together because one or the other of us is always behind the camera. 

We met in the hospital when he was in the last year of his medical residency and I was an ICU nurse.  It’s a fairly common story. Love can bloom even on night shift, with monitors beeping in the background. One of the things I was attracted to was his wonderful sense of humor (and you certainly need one of those to be in the medical field these days.) He has continued to keep me laughing all these years.
  
What I didn’t know then is that our life together would be better than I could have ever imagined and that it would always be such fun. I am stimulated by his intelligence, guided by his wisdom and entertained by his wit. He keeps me grounded and has encouraged me in whatever I have chosen to do.  He is an extraordinary father and stepfather.  I am a very lucky girl. 

I can’t wait until he retires and I have him home with me all the time.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.