In My World

By JoanneInOz

A view across the valley.

Way down at the end of my garden, and just across the other side of the fence, is a tree with a branch that the kookaburras like to use for a perch. 

I have often thought that they use it as a lookout, for when I put mincemeat out for them. Or it could be the other way around, when I see them there, I put the meat out. Either way, the kookaburras have a keen eye, and see me coming out my back door from their looking post. 

I'd be a tad upset with my neighbour if she ever chops down this particular tree. When the firewood pile is getting low, she brings out the chainsaw, then replaces the chopped down tree by planting another tree in her yard. 

Don't ask me why she does this. Most people buy seasoned firewood, ready to use, she makes her own. So every time I see a kookaburra at the post, I take a photo, just in case the tree isn't there the next day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.