What's your favourite?

Something strange been going on with my shots this week. Each day has had the wrong photograph assigned to it for a reason which I cannot fathom. So that is why, for this week only, many of the comments refer to the shot posted the following day, or the previous day or something. I had to move shots and move my journal but I couldn't move the comments.

Anyway, today's blip is another where inspiration has been bereft and I'm looking for something to upload at the end of the day. Not being mobile has restricted me from getting out and doing things. I've been inspired by the blips of people I follow and their ability to see opportunities that I just cannot see.

Today's blip is my collection of single malts. An eclectic mix, one that is ever changing. They do last a long time as I only drink them on a Saturday evening or on high days and holidays and then not on every occasion.

My favourite of all is Talisker from Carboost on the Isle of Skye. A little smoky and peaty but rich and deep in taste. I also liked the Highland Park 18 year old which I had for Christmas one year. It cost nearly £50 a bottle but was superb.

If you want to read a good book on searching for the perfect dram read Raw Spirit by Iain Banks - a superb author now sadly no longer with us. He was commissioned to write the ultimate whisky guide - visiting and tasting 100s of whiskys all over Scotalnd. What a gig! He had plenty of offers to drive him around. It was Iain who pointed to the Highland Park 18 yo being his favourite of all that he'd tasted. He wasn't wrong.

My brother-in-law who lives in Edinburgh is a member of the Scottish Whisky Society and we've been there a few times, down to Leith. The ambience is of a gentlemen's club. The tasting notes are quite magnificent and works of literary merit in their own right. I only wish I could reproduce one here. Cheers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.