Duck....

This morning when I got up it was 6 degrees (F), & the sun was valiently trying to rise above the huge bank of clouds that rose above the Lake. Hoping it would make it, I went to the lagoon at Grant Park. I took some pictures of the half frozen little falls that's there, & started heading back to the car, as I was frozen through! But then the sun peaked out so  I walked down along the edge of the lagoon toward all the ducks instead. The top layer of the lagoon is frozen over (no surprise there), with the exception of an area of free flowing water that's probably about 5 feet in diameter, & all the ducks are sitting on the ice that's surrounding the water. There are occasional fights----I even saw an episode of tail feather pulling between 2 mallards----& occasionally they get up to take a drink or a swim. This hen went into the water & was the only one swimming, so I waited with the camera for her to turn to the side so the light would catch her at the right angle. 
I liked some of the frozen falls pics I'd taken, but I liked the warm light in this one much better. I'll keep the frozen falls for another day, as I doubt it'll thaw anytime soon--not at THESE temperatures! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.