Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Spirit of the Staithes

This is a sculpture beside Blyth staithes, which are the wooden platforms originally used to transport coal to the ships waiting to take it for export.  Can you see what it is yet?

I did photograph it to show the complete image, but a mini roundabout and road signs rather spoil the effect.  (You also have to stand in the middle of the road to capture the photo too, which seems crazy for a public sculpture, but there you go....) 

The staithes always look quite bleak. I had forgotten that they were used in a famous chase scene in the film Get Carter which I saw as a teenager with my then boyfriend.  We were not used to such graphic violence and sex on the screen in those more innocent days.

Today it was photo class, then my drive to Blyth before seeing my wonderful physio, Heidi, in Cramlington. She listened and examined Aggie and Arth before suggesting some new exercises. I came away with great hope that I can do something to improve things. Shame I cricked my neck whilst coughing this morning. I've been dizzy all day!

PS The sculpture is of one of the trains that transported the coal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.