Australian Lizard

I have walked a fair bit today to see a few of the many things to do in this wonderful city.  I started with a visit to the Sydney Harbour Bridge Tower to get some different views over the bay, Opera House and Bridge.  On my first visit here (with husband and son) we did the Bridge Climb and I could see all the teams heading up the structure.

I then boarded a ferry and headed over to Taronga Zoo - those giraffes have an amazing view towards Sydney but I bet they don't appreciate it. The zoo is built on a hillside so, as well as lots of walking between areas there was a lot of up and down as well.  I have to say it's not one of the best zoos I've seen and many animals were not in the areas for various reasons,  The young elephants were entertaining as they played together in the water and the sea lions could be heard all over the zoo.

This lizard joined me for my lunch stop.  It's amazing what appears from the undergrowth when sitting quietly, and several others came along but this one seemed the boss.  At one time there were seven around, all keeping a regular distance between each other.  This one stayed closest and didn't mind me picking up the camera.  I'm afraid I don't know a definite type of lizard so 'Cute Australian Friendly Lizard' will have to do.

I caught the ferry back to the city and a spur of the moment decision took me to the Aquarium.  I remembered this as being excellent on the first trip and it didn't disappoint.  Very well laid out with lots of interesting displays so I was pleased to have re-visited.

I trekked along to Central Station after this to check on trains for my trip tomorrow and, although it was a much longer walk along George Street than I'd anticipated, it was enlightening to observe the changes in shops, people and general standards moving away from the centre.

Out to the Blue Mountains tomorrow and meeting some other Blip photographers which is exciting.  Must get my things organised as it's an early start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.