Winter Landscape Comparison

I thought today I would try a direct comparison between winter landscapes shot normally and then with an IR converted SLR. Firstly to find a decent winter landscape, not easy on a day when it was misty but not interestedly so, more like hazy. However I eventually found a field where the crop lines lead straight to a stand of winter trees which were sufficiently near not to be a distant blur.

 I treated both sets of images in the same way using Lightroom to convert to B & W and then SilverEfex to add a little more structure particularly to the sky area. The IR image is the top one also featured in the thumbnail as I much preferred it. The ordinary monochrome  is in many ways more contrasty and punchy but lacks the interest of the IR sky and the subtle tree bark tones. Unusually when converting the normal image to B & W I found the orange slider mainly effected the tones of the earth whilst the yellow slider affected the tones of the grass and the seedlings in the field which enable me to get a strong contrast between them. Normally I find that both the orange and yellow sliders effect the overall tone of the image so you cannot get this separation. (Apologies for all the techy talk !)

It would be interesting to hear your comments. I can't wait for spring to come bringing foliage on the trees when the differences between IR and ordinary photography should really come into their own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.