Reminiscing

Rip Steve Strange who passed away yesterday, his music was a huge influence on me growing up as was Boy George's, this collage is of a day in July 2009 when I actually met Steve Strange, I was performing on the Pride stage in Leicester Sq and so was he, I was so excited on the day and it was great to have my family there too, it was a really happy occasion.
He phoned me a few times after that and we talked about performing and how to deal with his nerves, I found it surreal, I said 'but you're Steve Strange' I was touched that he was so open with me. We talked about working together but we never did.
I've met Boy George a few times over the years and even did his backing vocals at the cafe de Paris but this was the only time I met Steve.
I've been feeling very nostalgic for my youth and the whole New Romantic period, I was in Brighton at the time and it was a fantastic time to be young, the music, the fashion, the clubs!
I feel very grateful to these pioneers who dared to be different and pushed the boundaries of creativity, they are an inspiration. Xxx
And look how young the boys are!!!
I should add that 'Uncle' Boy George taught the boys all the rude hand gestures! He sais 'Now boys, I'm going to show you something', he made a peace sign and said 'Peace' then he flipped the bird and said 'Peace off!'
the boys thought it was hilarious as you can see!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.