atoll

By atoll

Not a Dickie Bird

The sun was shining and so I was orignially thinking of heading into Tatton Park to check out and photograph the new arts Biennial just opened and going on until September. No I thought, Flights of Fancy could wait, as I was still way behind on work, and am also due in London and Aberdeen on Thursday and Friday this week.

I decided instead to photo the Blue Tit's nesting behind the old grill in the house wall set just above the conservatory door. The hole set behind is so deep, and with an obstruction, that there is nothing to see close up, but you do see the male and female flitting in and out continually to feed their brood. Simples I thought, a quick 10 minute blip and on with the important work.

An hour and a half later, and about 120 shots taken, some with a new fast shutter speed App for my iphone called Fast Camera (taking up to 20 shots at a time with 800 M.sec intervals between) and I didn't have any evidence of the either bird at all. I timed them in and out, sitting well back whilst they entered and moving up quickly to anticipate their departure. I saw them plain enough, but they were just way too fast for the camera (or me at least). As they left each time, they made a little disgruntled clicking sound. I eventually got their message to move off and gave up.

Anyway in compensation, here is a general picture of the spot. The nest in question is top left in the rendered brickwork just above the double white doors.

What I did manage to shoot is a ghostly image of myself and a hoverfly action shot. I suppose I could have claimed with the perspective that the hoverfly was the blue tit, but I would only have got found out.

Could do better - 2/10 for trying at least.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.