billy_green

By billy_green

Nana

Today is Valentines day.
It is also the Anniversary of my Nans passing. 
I can remember that being a very sad Valentines day 8 years ago.
Today I visited her at The East London Cemetery and brought her some Yellow and Red Roses. 

I have an early memory of Valentines day when I was 14 and starting to get really interested in women. I was going on and on about how I hoped I would get a Valentines card in the post.
I did. 
You can imagine how pleased I was.
I found out weeks later my Nan sent it so that I wouldn't be disappointed.
She was a real 'East End' Nan. A lovely woman who had 5 children, 4 of whom died young during WW2. 
Only my Dad survived. 
I never really knew this until she was old and unwell, but you would never have guessed. She was always a happy and loving woman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.