Valentines with Nan

9 years ago Valentines day was a little sad for me when my beloved Nan died.
Nan had a tough life losing 5 children during the War years, all aged under 4.
Her and Grandad lived in Londons East End all their lives, so knew some very tough times
My Dad who was born 2 years after the war was her only surviving child.
It was actually a nice evening (in the circumstances) the previous evening as the care home rang my father to say that Nan probably wouldnt last much longer if any of us wanted to say our last goodbyes.
10 of the family went up that evening and had a nice lucid conversation with her, who despite being very ill, knew who we all were and was able to say her goodbyes.
Craftily just as she was drifting off to sleep I said "Nan - who's your favourite grandchild"
"You are" she said and went to sleep - she never woke up.

To this day I remind my brothers and Sister, who were there at the time, of Nans last words :-)

Nan is buried at East London Cemetery and I visit her before every West Ham home game.
Today, for her anniversary I made a special visit with some flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.