Arachne

By Arachne

'Lawn'

I'm not garden-proud but I do cut the grass (i.e. dandelions/ daisies/ assorted weeds) from time to time. The last four weeks have been too wet as well as too busy for any such activity, but we're now into our third day of summer, so I felt I should strike while the ground was hot.

This handmower was in the shed when we moved here. Because of the general state of the place it took us about three years to find it but I've been using it ever since. I love the quiet whirr/clack sound it makes. Surprisingly it even copes with grass this long, though I have to put in more effort.

Once the lawn's raggedness was a bit shorter I hauled a table under the apple tree to work. I'm supposed to be on leave, having not managed to take any last week, but I have a 9am Monday deadline so I just have to get on with it. At least this makes the most perfect office.

(I think this grass meets the criteria for this week's word - rough.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.