Be my Valentine

These rings belonged to my Mum. My parents married in 1962 and remained married until death parted them. As I child I always loved her sapphire engagement ring and enjoyed hearing how my Dad told the bank manager he needed to borrow money to buy a new engine for his car to raise the money to buy it for her. The day sadly came when the ring became mine.

I drove past the house today where they lived for 26 years and thought how much I miss them both. They did a great job of teaching me about love by seeing them interact together, their banter and laughter, maybe a little nagging too, their companionable silence and their English love of a decent cuppa.

I'm grateful I have another chance of having the happiness they had thanks to my Hand Holder.

The greatest thing you'll ever learn, is just to love and be loved in return

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.