Visible from space

My first born, my eldest daughter, and her partner have become engaged. He popped the question during a weekend in Venice and, charmingly, he rang me beforehand to ask my permission. He's a lovely bloke but I still said it was okay.

Tonight we went out for a drink to celebrate; the couple, my wife and I. We strayed into the complex subject of who to invite - every invite seems to cost an inordinate amount of money so I suggested that Calum and I would swerve the gig and go and see some trains. Not a runner. 

Then I was told about the problem of hierarchies; those who might be invited to lunch and the event and the reception. I suggested that holding the gig later in the afternoon might avoid the lunch problem and, to be honest,  I'm still not sure why anyone would get wed before three o'clock.

It seems that I have more relatives than I'd thought of and the groom's family is equally labyrinthine so I've suggested that they go to Gretna Green or Golders Green or Forest Green and get married without all the expensive panoply that seems to surround this kind of thing.  Again a non-runner.

I like Scott and I love each of my children more than life itself so why they/we should bankrupt ourselves to cater for people  who can't even spell Jemma's name is beyond me. There's no rush (and for my generation and those before that, of itself, is a blessing) so I hope I can talk them round to the idea that they simply book a flight somewhere, do the deed, and come back for a beer. Being married isn't about getting married is it?

Jemma demanded that her engagement ring should have a diamond which was visible from space. Perverse as it might seem I think that my role in all of this might be supporting and protecting the groom.............. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.