Technical problems

Aren't they the very worst? After some dislocations and disconnections yesterday my PC really threw a six this morning. Whenever I opened Windows Explorer it crashed and dragged down the browser or whichever app was using WE, i.e. if I wanted to add an image to a tweet or save a screen grab or just about anything. I knew that it wasn't a virus but I ran a malware check and then the system file checker which is one of those glorious command prompt tools which takes me back to proper woolly-backed, down and dirty, frontier computing days of DOS. The message this tool returned after running would have said "Now't down for pal" if Gates had been wise enough to employ me to write his HCI stuff but he's going to have to keep kicking himself about missing that opportunity. A bit more investigative work and I decided that the Microsoft Critical Update installed at the back of last week might be the moody runner so I decided to screw my courage to the sticking place and run MS Restore. There really is no joy in watching a PC make arbitrary decisions about whether or not it will ever let you see your photographs or work or contacts or other stuff ever again so I went out for a spin and to find you all a delicious blip.

I knew that Thomas was visiting K&ESR but I was lucky to arrive in time to take this shot. As it's a special event the train is only running between Tenterden and Rolvenden and I'd decided to head for Rolvenden as you've had plenty of blips from Tenterden. As I arrived the level crossing was closed to cars so I parked and went to the field to catch the train as it cleared the crossing and headed up the bank towards Cranbrook Road and then Tenterden Town station. The sharp-eyed among you will spot that Thomas is going backwards, he's taking the train from behind as it were. The reason is that the train is topped and tailed; Norwegian, dressed up as Donald, is at the front. I'd guess that the reason for running like this is that the engine doesn't need to run round the train at each end of the route - it can pull in one way and then pull out the other way with the engines alternating between going forward and backward. Does that make sense? I need to make it clear to younger readers that this is the real Thomas although Norwegian isn't the real Donald.

Anyway - it would seem that the system restore has worked and the PC is usable again. I've yet to wander down the dark corridors to peek in the nooks and crannies to see what still works and what is available to me. I have high hopes.

In other news - pork belly with potatoes which are roasting in dripping. Fennel with green peppers to provide the veg quotient. 

Edit: I've added a shot of Norwegian dressed up as Donald as I realised that some may not know what Norwegian looks like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.