Leiflife

By Leiflife

Love Among Gulls...

I had come to the beach alone on this cold and windy morning, and I mimicked the plovers, huddled low to make the most of the sun's warmth. They were in the shallows, where tiny waves lapped at their puffed out bodies. Their heads were tucked into their feathers. I loved them utterly, using my camera to record their charming forms. I was calmed by their stillness, at peace with the moment, yet soon I became aware of raucous cries.

To my right, a short distance away, a small horde of seagulls occupied an exposed spit of sand stretching into the water. Thence came the cries, and I rose to investigate. Most of the gulls were huddled as were the plovers, individuality be damned. Yet two stood out...somewhat larger than the others and obviously together. What she did, he did...and visa versa. At the moment they were standing with necks stretched forward, mouths wide open as they screamed at the huddled gulls. They were having little effect.

I photographed the peculiar scene, and when the frustrated couple finally gave up on the group to go off together, I followed them to a nearby island of sand where they flirted and skirted around one another until they finally settled into harmonious accord. Happy Valentines Day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.