Life Savors

By osuzanna

Guilt ridden....sort of.

When I left home today to fly to Southern California, the wind chill temperatures at home were below 0 Fahrenheit (that's minus 18 Celsius). When I arrived at ,LA airport, I felt like I had been placed in some alternate universe....and it was paradise. The sky was blue, sun was bright and it was a warm 80 degrees (27 C). I spent the entire day outdoors and ended it watching the sunset on Santa Monica Beach. In one weeks time I have been to the Atlantic, Gulf of Mexico and the Pacific. While friends and family are experiencing freezing temperatures, and snow, I can't help but feel some pangs of guilt.....well at least for a few minutes, anyway.

Recently, I gave my two younger sons framed enlarged photos that I had taken of our park, a place that reminds them of home and their childhood. I was touched by how much they loved the gifts. Number 4 son told me that he would love to have photos of the other places he has lived since college, but he would love it even more, if they were taken by me. He lived in Santa Monica during his last year of law school at UCLA, and really loved it.

This is not the reason for my trip to L.A., but I thought while I was here I would walk his favorite running route which goes right past this row of beach houses on Santa Monica Beach. I also got some nice shots of the pier and sunset so I think I have another gift covered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.