The Kiltwalk

By thekiltwalk

Meet a real KiltWalker, not a Newbie

When you look at today's blipfoto you're looking at a real Kiltwalk legend. Some of you may look at the picture and see its of Carey and think that must be him, however you'd be wrong!!

Carey is only the CEO of The Kiltwalk and this was in fact his first ever Kiltwalk. No the real Kiltwalk legend is the man walking beside him who is Hugh MacEvoy and if the name sounds familiar, then yes you've guessed it, he's Carey's Dad.

So why the "legend" status? Well I don't think he'd thank me for pointing out he's a retired gentleman who like to partake of a walk for Children's Charities, because he's probably fitter than most and almost certainly me.

Before I reveal the reason behind my comment then Speyside was the first time I'd met Hugh and it was a pleasure to spend some time in his company. It takes you seconds to realise Hugh is a Northern Irish lad who along with his lovely lady, made Scotland his home many years ago and is very proud to don the Kilt and walk as a native.

I was going to say that it was great spending the night chatting away to him, however he does have the Irish "gift of the gab" so I found myself spending most of the time just listening to his tales, despite Carey trying to short circuit them by beating him to the punch line. My guess is that if you ever find yourself on a Kiltwalk with him, the miles will simply fly by as he talks you round the course with his entertaining stories.

So lets get back to the legend status.

The legend status is for something far more significant and worthy than mere age as this was Hugh's fourth Kiltwalk and as far as we're aware? he's the only KiltWalker to take part in the Hampden to Loch Lomond walks in 2010, 2011 & 2012 and also tackle the inaugural Speyside Kiltwalk, "so hats off to ya, Hugh and we hope to see you on many more in the years to come".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.