Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

A Stitch in Time

Dear Diary,

This is a textile collage I made for my grandmother using her tatting shuttle, ivory crochet hook, a page from her common book, and her wedding photograph.  I wanted to create a work of art that would serve as a tribute to her. 

I never had the fine needle skills she possessed but I wanted to do more than simply frame her picture.  There is a bit of her tatting surrounding her portrait and the scalloped embroidery at the bottom is hers as well.

This is one of my cherished possession, not because I made it but because it is a true portrait of this wonderful woman...more than a mere photograph would reveal.  The quote at the bottom speaks about her no nonsense, get it done, personality:

Our main business is not to see what lies dimly at a distance,
but to do what is clearly at hand.

ps.  The storm turned east and I was spared the heavy snow they first predicted...a real Sunday blessing for Emerson and me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.