Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A good day on the slopes

We planned to get up early to be up the mountain skiing, but Adam and his friends went out last night and were tired, and for some reason I hardly slept at all (think it was the altitude?) so I also felt too tired to ski. However, we decided that since it was such a beautiful day we could not waste it, and so we did go up the mountain but much later than planned.

It was quite warm in the village (4C) but at the top of the mountain it was -8C with a very strong, icy wind. Adam was skiing in a T shirt and his ski jacket whereas I had 3 layers on! Any parent of a teenage boy will know you cannot tell them to put on another layer! It was an excellent day of skiing as despite me being so tired, as I found the wind helped my skiing..... I only learnt to ski ten years ago, and learning so late in life was very difficult and I will never be a good skier. I tend to lean backwards which is really bad form, yet today because the wind was so strong and was almost blowing me backwards, I had to lean forwards into the wind and my skiing was amazing!! I also never had burning thighs which I usually get from leaning backwards - I did an 8km run without stopping once and my legs hardly felt it! There is life in this old dog, yet!!

Beautiful blue skies today with just enough clouds to make the sky interesting. Hopefully this weather will last all week. One of the main reasons we enjoy skiing here is that apart from the New Year period when every man and his dog comes skiing, the rest of the time it is not crowded. Today, despite being half term week we had no queues. There were some runs where Gavin and I had no one on the pistes around us, and as we got to the lifts we just stepped on with no waiting - what a pleasure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.