Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

"Fingerbob" Strikes Again

That's it.  I drive by this saguaro at least once a week and every time I do I say, to anyone who will listen, "There's Fingerbob!" It's a name with character (for a character of a cactus)!

In January 2013, when I first shot it (him?), after asking and receiving a slew of suggestions from many blippers, I chose the name Praying Pete.  You can read the wonderful suggestions people made, as well as the reasoning behind my choice.

But it never stuck in my consciousness.

Exactly a year later, I had completely forgotten about Praying Pete and erroneously reported that we had chosen The Finger as it's name.  Boy, am I a mess!

But kudos to HarryJ (who got a shout out last year, too) and all of the others who supported Fingerbob.  It's the name that has been chiseled into my grey matter and will stay with me until that 100-year old saguaro keels over and is carted away!

I finally got a different angle of it, too.  The first two blips were almost identical, though different treatments.  This time I've revealed a third arm.
(I think he must be wearing a backpack!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.