The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

The Winning Ticket

Before Christmas, Becky was rewarded for being the highest individual fundraiser in the highest fundraising class in her school. The prize was a voucher for a family ticket to watch MK Dons (cue your preferred joke).
While not avid football fans, the kids were keen to go and watch a match and, as I work in Milton Keynes and had been to the stadium for a corporate event, I thought that this would be a good introduction to the joys of the Football League.
Today I went to exchange the voucher for tickets and we have elected to go to the MK Dons v Peterborough game on 21st February. The selection process was to apply the principle that, sometimes we go shopping in Milton Keynes and sometimes we go shopping in Peterborough. There you go! How’s that for being a neutral?
Of course I will have to align my allegiance to MK Dons, being as I am an employee within the cultural domain that is Milton Keynes. And that is in spite of the fact that I have always objected to the fact that Wimbledon FC were packaged up and sent to become the team that is now MK Dons: Milton Keynes may have bought the rights to the Crazy Gang’s success but they will never win the moral battle in my book. Let bygones be bygones though and we all have to move on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.