The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Time and Motion

I’ve wanted to do something with this clock for a while and couldn’t think how best to photograph it. It was a gift from my sisters and I to my parents on their Silver Wedding Anniversary in 1985 so, although not exactly an antique piece, has its own family history. I wanted to keep it when we were clearing out my parents’ flat after my dad died.
Although I think I will try again at some time to get a more dramatic effect, I decided to experiment with the use of a long exposure in the dim light and you can see from the clock face that it is nice and sharp but the rotating balls that form the pendulum action are all blurred because of the motion. What I hadn’t expected, but it makes sense with a 30 second exposure, was the movement of the minute hand and therefore I think I need to get out my ND filters to create an even longer exposure and more dramatic effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.