Floating Penny

Thanks to everyone who had a look and commented on my 300th Blip Day recently...I really appreciate all the friendly comments and the time you folks take to read and respond to my blips...

Home after an inspiring and satisfying but kind of exhausting weekend's teaching in Cambridge. It went well.
Tonight I have managed to make it as far as the sofa upstairs where I will shortly keel over, the television remote in one hand and a mug of hot tea nearby and do something utterly undemanding like catching up on the weekend's football.

This rather unexceptional blip is a snap of the shelf behind the aforementioned sofa which houses (can a shelf house things?...oh, anyway...) a collection of junk and ephemera mostly picked up during my teens and student days either on Portobello Road or Cambridge market. I have always loved the elegance of packaging during the early years of the last century...games, cigarette cards, old tins...

Floating Penny is a losing betting slip from John White on Newmarket Racecourse. I was pretty well certain from my reading of the Sporting Life that my horse was bound to win. Just as well I didn't back it with the whole of my student grant. There is something just so wonderful though about the smell of the turf, the colours of the jockeys silks and the beauty of those fine thoroughbred animals...



I look forward to catching up on some of the journals I have missed during the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.