CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Balgay Cemetery

A bright, breezy day.

I had a quiet morning followed by an afternoon session introducing potential volunteers to the concept of a 'listening service' within the NHS. There is a recognition that many patients do want to talk to someone but with the pressures on medical staff there is need for volunteers to fulfill this role. The work can be done either informally on the wards in the Hospitals  or in GP surgeries with a more structured referral system.

There is a Training Course to be undergone which would start in the next couple of weeks. I personally feel I could be best used in the GP setting, but I need to explore this a bit further.

The Cemetery, part of which can be seen in the photo, is next door to the Hospital where the session was held. I was struck by how the graves were very well kept and intermingled with the trees - a very peaceful setting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.