Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Lovely winter sunshine.

What a beautiful day.  Almost summer like and, again, we had lunch in the garden.
Youngest son dropped in.  Sadly, he has been laid off from his current job.  I think the work situation is dire at the moment.  So many young people are being offered zero hour contracts or freelance work which allows employers to behave exactly as they please.
He has always worked hard at school, is in enormous debt from his time at university, and yet is struggling to find a full time contract which will allow him real independence.  
He, of course, is lucky as we are, of course, behind him.  But in my other, voluntary role I see so many young people cut adrift at such a young age.  They have no-one behind them and they often struggle to manage even the day to day tasks that keep them within the law.  
Things seemed so much easier when I first started work.  I remember having my pick of jobs 
I just hope that the 20 somethings are not the lost generation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.