For a friend

My sister's partner died today. He's been struggling with a lung condition and a couple of years ago we were told that he only had a few months left. If there is anything at the end of this vale of tears he'll be there now with a can of beer and a roll-up. If God runs a twenty year old Metro this is the bloke who will keep it on the road. And the Almighty can rely on the sweetest gentle giant of a man who will turn his hand to anything with a gruff "alright then".

I've turned comments off, I'm sure you'll understand. I really don't want messages of sympathy; I'm fine but it was difficult to know what to do here. I couldn't ignore his going yet I don't want to turn this into a mawkish "cross by the side of the road".

So I hope you'll be okay that I've posted something rather more personal than I might otherwise do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.