New day - new beginnings

By gudnypalina

Hidden

I must admit, the theme of the day really got my head spinning. To begin with I couldn't come up with any ideas on the theme "hidden". But when I went into my living room, intending to read a book, a motif was there right in front of my eyes. Something is hidden on this photo, and I'm not telling you what it is ;-)

This is a small part of a painting by a local artist, Óli G. Jóhannsson. Sadly, he passed away in 2011, at the age of 65. Although he lived and worked here in Akureyri, his work had gotten international attention, and via Opera Gallery, he held exhibitions in New York, London and Singapore to name a few. I didn't know him personally, but when we went to his gallery to choose a painting, he kindly offered to come to our house, with the two pieces we found most interesting. We accepted the offer, and he arrived  with two large paintings in the back of his pickup. Beforehand, I liked the other painting better, but when hanging on the wall in our living room, it was obvious that this one belonged there. And I've become quite found of it. It has a lot of black in it, which I didn't like in the beginning, but there's also a lot of brighter colours, so indeed it's kind of like life itself. Some days are kind of black, while others are sunny yellow, and then there's everything in between. 
One person who brings the sun with her is Lilja, the widow of Óli. Like me, she likes to start her day with a morning swim, and I often meet her at the pool. She has a beautiful smile and an easy going attitude, and it's always a pleasure running into her. 

The February Photography Challenge:
1 on my table
2 comfy
3 starts with p
4 pink
5 old school
6 walk
7 accessory
8 chaos
9  writing
10 curly
11 pattern
12 my view today
13 love
14 valentine
15 macro
16 makes me happy
17 dessert
18 hidden
19 one
20 modern
21 what i’m reading
22 street
23 soft
24 early
25 top
26 a selfie
27 a dreaded task
28 paper

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.