A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

To catch a thief!

I have been trying to capture this thief on film at least for some time, but it turns our that he is not a sole operator!

This feeder in the front garden is emptied daily by the Jackdaws but I usually find they have gone by the time I get the right lens on my camera. Not so today I happened to have the lens in place but when I got back to the window to take the shot I found there were two birds having a little scrap. There was a flap of wings as they both fought for supremacy but in the end one flew away and the other got the booty!

I've never taken much notice of these birds till last year when I observed them nesting in my neighbour's chimney. They've had that fixed now and then someone pointed out to me that they had observed the same happening in the chimney at my son's home. That explained the traces of soot and feathers we found when he first mover in. So he has had his,chimney sealed too before the breeding season.

They are such cheeky birds but I can't help but admire their resourcefulness! Wonder whose chimney they will chose next!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.