A new building in the midst of the old

For many years about 25 to be precise, I was based in my university job on a campus a couple of miles from the City Centre, called Collegiate Crescent Campus. There my office was located up and down the hill literally from top to bottom, finishing at the top in a building that in another life had been the residential part of a teacher training college. Although the buildings were in reasonable repair they were old and the campus was a pleasant place to work.

About 18 months ago my Centre was relocated to the City Centre Campus at a time when a huge development was taking place to bring two departments together into a brand new building. It was opened very recently and this was my first proper visit for a meeting. I could not resist a quick blip. It was very smart inside with an open plan arrangement which feels a little too open plan to me with staff in one area and virtually no one with their own room. Call me old fashioned but my career has been conducted in single offices for the most part and I am glad to be still in one, though had some great times up on that campus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.