Consider the Lilies

By skambalu

#Lent photos: Ash Wednesday

http://www.cafod.org.uk/Pray/Lent-Calendar-2015/Ash-Wednesday-18-February 

When you fast do not put on a gloomy look as the hypocrites do." (Matthew 6:16)

Ash Wednesday is always a funny sort of day. We are exhorted to wash our faces, so no one knows we are fasting - and then I, and many others, take part in a penitential Mass which involves having a huge, ashy cross smeared on our foreheads!

So it's an interesting sort of day, and the first step on the journey that is Lent.

If you follow the link at the top, you'll see a photo of Martin from Myanmar. He also wears a huge smile, and has tanakah on his cheeks. This Lent I'll be reflecting on his life, and remembering the disaster that happened to his community a few years ago when Cyclone Nargis hit.

No one act of extreme weather can be contributed to climate change, but the rising temperature of the earth's climate is expected by scientists to contribute to there being more extreme and chaotic weather. So I'm also thinking about how I can play my part in not contributing to a rising temperature, but instead to making a difference positively.

And this Lent I'm also going to try to reflect using the CAFOD Lent calendar every day, and take a photo inspired by that reflection, to share here on Blipfoto.

I'll see if I can manage it.

Happy Ash Wednesday! Enjoy the journey!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.