22

Hannah is 22, today!

And while that certainly required celebrating, it also involved quite a bit of logistical effort. The sponges were made - see yesterday's post - so I was able to nip out for a run first thing and then come back to ice and decorate. (Photo here.) Then I nipped up to Booths for some lunch things and then everyone arrived: Dan and Abi and their mum, plus Milly, Izzy and the birthday girl. We had fizz, presents, lunch and cake, and then I drove down to Chorley with Izzy and Hannah to pick up the Minx. And from there we headed  down to Fallowfield, specifically to The Fallow where Charlie works.

Izzy's boyfriend, Michael was already there, and Charlie had finished her shift. Any hopes I had of getting off lightly were quickly dashed as cocktails and food were ordered. Still, the Minx had, with characteristic consideration, offered to drive, so I was at least able to have a couple of drinks myself and even sink an orphaned glass of sambuca! Not that I had to fight for it: this generation doesn't seem have Pernod bound into their adolescence in the way that we did and thus the taste of aniseed is something at which they all turned their noses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.