Cake!

It's Hannah's birthday, tomorrow, and we're having a birthday lunch at the cottage. Since I won't have time to make her cake in the morning, not least because I want to go out for a run, I decided to make the sponges the night before, i.e. this evening. (This is after checking with the Minx that they wouldn't dry out and then going to Booths and buying a cake box, anyway.)

I'm using the proportions for the eggs, flour, sugar and butter that the Minx gave me but they cake didn't come out quite right, last time, I think because I was using fancy new cake tins that have the bottoms that you can pop out. Not that the bottoms are the problem, it's just they're a bit bigger. So, earlier on, I popped up to the house and borrowed my old cake tins, which I think I've had since I first made a cake for Charlie nearly twenty-four years ago.

And the sponges came out beautifully! I mean sure they're a bit 'rustic' looking but I'm delighted with them and they smell great. In future, at least when it comes to making cakes, I'm going to stick to what I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.