Keswick

I needed a couple more things for Valentine's Day tomorrow plus, it's Hannah's birthday, too, and I didn't just want to order her something from Amazon. So, as I don't have Dan and Abi, this weekend, and the Minx is otherwise in engaged, I decided to take myself off to Keswick.

The Minx and I came here for a weekend, last year (I think it was), and I was rather taken with the little town, which was nowhere near as drab as I remembered it being, and which seemed so much more interesting than Kendal, in the south of the county. 

I got up fairly promptly, this morning, grabbed a coffee from Booths for the journey, and by nine o'clock I was turning west off the M6 on the road towards Keswick. It was a beautiful morning, chilly and clear, with the low sun and glaring snow capped hills warranting a bit of squinting (I'd come out without my sunnies). 

Once parked up, I strolled into Keswick. It's immediately different from Kendal, which, these days, is little more than a collection of high street chains. In Keswick, there was no sign of a Starbucks or Costa (although I did find one, tucked away, later on) and so I found myself a little café for my next coffee of the day, sitting in the window to watch all the people milling around the market.

I have a curious aversion to market stalls - I feel immediately obliged to buy something - so, coffee finished, I set off around the pleasing variety of independent shops. I found some little beauties and soon my Booths bag was filling up with bits and pieces for the Minx and for Hannah, and, of course, for myself. After a slightly exhausting circuit of a gorgeous little bookshop - I reached the point where I'd picked up so many books that I had to put some back - I found another café where I had some more coffee and a bowl of porridge with golden syrup.

I'm grateful to have so many people whom I love and who love me in my life, such that days like today, when I'm completely alone, are a rarity that I can simply enjoy. Four hours of mooching around Keswick, dipping in and out of cafés and shops, felt like it was good for my soul. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.