Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Dad

Tuesday 3 February 2015

My world turned upside down this evening.  Exactly nine weeks after my Mum's passing, I have lost my Dad.  He took ill on a train, and was taken by ambulance to hospital.  Dad loved trains, he lived with blue lights ... and he did always like a bit of a drama.  I shall miss him terribly. 

Shocked by the news, just before midnight I wasn't sure what to take to record such a sad moment.  This photograph is on my study wall.  Dad took it in his office at one of the Fire Stations.  He set it up himself, either with the camera on a tripod, or on his desk. 

A verse my Sister and Dad shared yesterday, as he celebrated his birthday.  
1 Corinthians 2, verse 9. 
 “What no eye has seen,
what no ear has heard,
and what no human mind has conceived”—
the things God has prepared for those who love him."

We are shocked by his sudden and unexpected passing, but we know Mum and Dad are now "Together Forever", which for them both it is far, far better.  

My entry for yesterday (2 February) of his uniform, is so very special now. 

(Posted on 18 February) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.