Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Dad's Tram on my 2,500 Blipday

Remembering Dad, who left us so suddenly and unexpectedly a year ago today.  I can still remember getting that phone call, such a shock just nine weeks after loosing Mum.  

He has been in my thoughts all day.  I went for a walk and gave thanks for a man who "Acted justly, loved mercy and walked humbly with God" (Micah 6:8).  A life well lived, he gave so much practical help to others.  

This evening, I poured his favourite tipple, a sherry, and lit a candle, to celebrate his life, and my 2,500 Blipday.  What a coincidence the two events have come together.  He would be quite chuffed about that.  He was a keen photographer, and encouraged me to keep going with my Journal.  

This is his Tram.  A long running saga about how he was so opposed to the Edinburgh Tram system.  Every time something went wrong with the construction, he would say "I told you so, a complete waste of time and money".  We challenged him to ride on one after they eventually went into service. He didn't want to, and never did.  

I bought him this set as a bit of a joke for one of his birthdays, during the years the streets were dug up and in a mess.  I was pleased that he put it together quite soon after, and it sat on the sill in his bedroom.  It now sits on mine, and I think of him everyday as I open the curtains.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.