The life & times of Jacks

By Jacqueline

My weirdo Rosie

Rosie is a weirdo.

Sometimes you can't touch her without her flinching and running away, sometimes she just breaths really heavily - that tends to mean she won't run away but she isn't comfortable either. And then sometimes she is the biggest sook on the planet cuddling up to you face nuzzling - purring (dribbling - yuck) and just wanting a tonne of fussing. Typically the higher the floor in the house the cuddlier she is.

Weirdo.

Busy week - looking forward to the weekend and a wee long lie.

Interesting thing at work. I happen to be on our account gender equality in the workplace team and I am not sure if it is because of the stuff I have been reading lately that made me notice this or if it really was that overt.

Years ago I remember a technique to make things you need to get done happen you should use words like "feel" to personalise the request so for example rather than - I want you to do x perhaps I feel that we should do x.

I know plenty of men and women who use this.
On a call today with a software vendor we were chatting about a plan and there is a definite direction it needs to go in. I said that I knew it felt like we were asking for riskier approach etc and the vendor immediately and forcefully said:
"But Jacqueline this isn't about feelings!"

One of my North American colleagues was on the call and he messaged me saying that the comment was so inappropriate and I thought about it for a second realising I am used to it before I realised that actually if I were male - no one would have suggested anything about making the discussion about feelings.

I do work really hard to disguise the emotion and be really kinda flat at work - and am successful except when REALLY tired & frustrated but the men I work with don't have to and they do have inflections and little outbursts and this is perceived as ok and just passionate about the job.

I am going to be more mindful about this type of exchange and try to gauge if I have gotten used to it or if this was a one off.

2 years ago I would have said I was not a feminist but I think I had completely misunderstood feminism. I am completely for gender equality!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.