wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

How about a swim?

I don't swim. I know I know. How can one live in Maine and not swim?
I have taken swimming lessons about a dozen times and have failed each time. Once many years ago in my youth, a bunch of us kids went to a place called Mile Pond. I blipped it a while ago. You probably know the rest of the story. I fell in, can't swim, almost drowned.........anyway. I don't like water in my nose or in my ears, just don't like it. Many years ago I went to a past life regressionist and was told that in a past life my demise was bad. It involved being shot and landing face down in water unable to move. So I drowned.
I was not told I was a queen or a deity or anything else awesome. Just that it was faced down in a puddle. So that's why I can cut myself some slack. Obviously dues were paid and I have a pass from swimming this time round!
Anyway
I was not going to even dip my toes in the water this afternoon. The harbor is a mess. Between some of the docks the ice is so thick you can walk on it. I heard that the ferries are running more often to keep the channels open. The coast guard ships are cutting paths all the time.
It hit above 28 today. It was a heat wave of sorts and.......I could feel a change. Oh ok there is supposed to be up to about 10 inches falling tonight but, it feels like we are on the downturn.
AND THE ICE MELT BOOBIES????
They are genius. Simply genius. They are working. My roof is clear. Now there are ice dams still. I mean they don't disappear overnight but.....they are much smaller. We need to put some on the back roof now. They are genius.
The band has a gig at Andys Old Port Pub tomorrow night, so I took tomorrow and Friday off. Sleeping past 4am is awesome. My cats are much happier. I am much happier. We have been light on gigs lately so tomorrow night is going to be awesome. Shelly is in England so it is Ingrid, myself and Dan Dan the dobro man. We are there 6 to 9. Come on down!
I am so happy.
Well it's afternoon in Oz so G'day and goodnight to my friends in the north!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.