Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Remembering Scott and Dad

Dear Diary,

Today is a sad anniversary each year.  Both my Dad and my husband Scott passed away on the 19th of February...fortunately, not the same year.  My Dad died in 1998 the year Scott and I married and Scott died 10 years ago today in 2005.

I've posted photographs of Dad but this is the first one of Scott taken in 1997 on Monhegan Island in Maine.  He adored hiking and fishing and just being in the outdoors. He was an accomplished downhill ski racer and I chose to buy this house in western Maine so he could be near the mountains he so loved to ski. He died very young, at 55.

On the day my Dad died in 1998 it was a snow storm, just like it is today.  So it adds to the memory of his passing.  My Dad loved fishing too and I'm sure they would have enjoyed each others company.

People may no longer be with us but we hold them tightly in our hearts.  We are left with only the memories and that will have to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.