Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Town before the rain...

Yet again today started out beautifully but it wasn't forecast to last  and by lunchtime it was raining. The sky was quite dramatic (with a little help) before the rain.

Well good news today. My HbA1c (diabetes) bloods were so good that my Metformin has been reduced to a single tablet a day. Blood pressure perfect and cholesterol also fine. So I can carry on doing what I'm doing... 

I think everybody has a Fitbit now. It is interesting to see that I moved around a couple of times in the night but didn't wake up at all (exactly as I expected). I have taken 9,986 steps so far today (its half past two in the afternoon) so if I have a cup of coffee I'll have reached the 10,000 target without going out ringing tonight. 

I forgot to say that yesterday I got the bus to Petit Bot. I got on at the bus terminus and walked about halfway down the bus then noticed that the seat behind the one I chose was covered in £1 notes. I did a double take because I couldn't believe it and I did glance around for the hidden camera. I gathered them up and gave them to the driver. He spotted a girl getting on the bus in front who had got off his bus as he came into town; so as he drew level with it he asked the driver to ask whether she had lost any money. Apparently not. I don't suppose I'll ever know how they came to be there but it was very strange because they weren't together in a bundle the way I'd have them in a purse but spread out. A mystery indeed.

For those not familiar with Guernsey we have our own currency based on sterling and we still use £1 notes, so this isn't some old notes someone had stashed away. We also have our own coins which are the same size and weight as those of the UK. I find it hard to separate them out but folk in the UK can spot them at100 paces if you try to spend them in a shop over there. None of our currency is legal tender in the UK though notes can be changed at a bank.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.