A Day To Experiment

After I got back from the shops it began to rain - so I started to play around with some shots to try and emulate a technique that was described to us by a guest speaker at Camera Club last week.

The speaker described how she photographed plants against a black background and then turned them to negatives as it seemed to show up detail in the leaves and petals more!

So with my black background behind the peace lily I took the shot and  then in lightroom converted to B&W and then to convert to negative I just inverted the tone 'curve' - i.e. pulled dark tones to light and vice versa. The I played about with the contrast and shadows / highlights sliders to get the best effect. The original colour shot is here.

I then tried a hyacinth plant - and tried a 'coloured' variant - turning this into this. It was done in Photoshop by creating a fill layer of colour sampled from the plant and then changing the blending mode and opacity to achieve a result I like!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.