Three-Legged

I've been trying and largely failing to catch up with myself all week, so I'm still posting blips late. Deadlines looming at work and I never seem to find the time in the day to make any progress because of the need to keep up with routine support work coming in all the time. That just leaves the evenings. Thanks for those that dropped by with supportive words and love on Monday's blip. That meant a lot.

I've been working hard to keep quiet about blipfoto of late, but I feel like I have to say something about the rollout of the statistics feature. Perhaps it's because I'm feeling grumpy again but blipcentral's prioritisation makes no sense to me. The stats are certainly very pretty but to me it's a matter of putting style before substance. In a way, it's completely at odds with the new branding of the site as less about photography and more about mobile access and social networking. Does anyone really care about all these numbers? Why on earth would you put so much effort into this (and there's no doubt a lot of effort has gone into it) when so many of the basics are still not right? It's a bit like putting the icing on the cake before the cake's gone in the oven! I can understand it in terms of the developers, because it must have been fun to work on, much more interesting than fixing bugs and doing the boring housekeeping stuff, but I thought the reason for the wholesale changes were about the business model, not about pleasing the nerds amongst us. I have to admit that I'm at a complete loss to understand. Or is it just me? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.