Putting my foot in it. No 14

I outed a client yesterday. I didn't mean to. I thought he was out.
I knew he was gay, he knew he was gay,
everyone in the room knew he was gay.
Fuck, there are aliens on planet Tharg that know he's gay.
But no-one has ever spoken about it.
Shit, how was I meant to know?

We had just had a big presentation and we were chatting.
He mentioned that he and his partner had done nothing
at the weekend as they'd worked really hard the previous week,
I said: 'What does your boyfriend do?'

The room went quiet.
The sort of quiet that makes milk curdle and turns net curtains yellow.
I looked up. Fuck. The penny dropped.
Quite close to where I dropped the clanger.

Silently and as fast as I could, I threw everything I could lay my hands
on into my bag. I still have someone's toupee.
I smiled/grimaced at the client in a 'sorry about my big fucking mouth'
sort of way, shook his hand and ran for the door.

I'm glad he liked the work.
But I'm guessing he may not be so keen on it now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.