derelict (ˈdɛrɪlɪkt)

adjective
1  deserted or abandoned, as by an owner, occupant
2  falling into ruins; neglected; dilapidated
noun
3  a person abandoned or neglected by society; a social outcast or vagrant
4  a person who is neglectful of duty or obligation
 
I was doing a course in Didcot today so at lunchtime, in the rain, I went to visit this small piece of land. Trainees from my workplace  (derelicts in sense 3) are transforming it from a derelict (sense 1) corner of a housing estate into a garden in memory of Jayden Parkinson, a young woman who, 14 months ago, was murdered by her ex-boyfriend (derelict in sense 4 is a bit of an understatement).

The garden has been designed by my colleague Gez, here with his rake, in consultation with Jayden’s family. Purple was her favourite colour and in front of the newly-painted fence there will be a plaque in her memory surrounded by lavender. Most of the materials, trees and plants-in-waiting have been donated or sold at greatly reduced prices by local businesses.

My workplace has a lot of projects going on at the moment, but this is the one that everyone wants to work on.
 

Thanks for all the warm, supportive comments yesterday. This image is definitely not ‘good’  technically but as a bit of reportage snatched as I was slithering in the mud I’m happy that it does what I want it to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.