Life Savors

By osuzanna

Derelict Workbench

…. or at least a small part of it.  
Bitter cold temperatures and windchill kept me from any outdoor activity, even in my car. I was forced to find something derelict inside so I went into the recesses of our basement where there is an old workbench left behind by the previous owners, over 30 years ago. Because of its position, I couldn’t really get a good shot of the whole thing, so I went for some grungy details on one of the many drawers.  

The previous owner of our home was the daughter of a former Supreme Court Justice. After the Justice died, his widow came to live here too and brought many of her things. When they sold the house to us, they took half of a very large workbench and left the other half of it behind for us.  We like to think that the workbench originally belonged to the Justice since it is many years older than the house, but we don’t really know for sure.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.