jaihill

By jaihill

A Hard Days Graft... Not That I Mind

What a wonderful day! I walked 2.5 miles to the train station to get a train that takes on average 40 minutes. 8AM and I arrive into work... and it begins. The petty office politics and demanding deadlines... but I don't mind though. 

Lunch Time! Today my usual walk was interrupted by Mr Raincloud... not that I mind, it cleared the air to be honest... I return back to my desk and enjoyed my usual sandwich (Ham and Mayo on white farmhouse) just like the day before. Right, back to work... Not that I mind though.

2PM I need a coffee! To the kitchen! Ohhhhhh... shit, She's in the kitchen... Do not make eye contact with her... you will just get exasperated with her and get the sack... Not a good idea Jai... 

4PM! Home time! Oh and today is a great day as Elaine is dropping me off at the train station (not the usual one I walk to; thats 10 minutes from the office; I mean the one further down the track). Great conversation and I'm here early! BONUS! Oh, whats that... OH for fuck sake... Its delayed... again... but you know what...Not that I mind.

Right, on the train FINALLY, traveling with my fellow workers and arrive at my stop. Oh great... The heavens have opened... yet again... The day that Mr Husband is at work and can't pick me up...But hey... Not that I mind though. 

The final leg of my journey, a slightly longer 2.7 mile stroll, up hill, dark, wet and cold, wearing a coat that the manufacture says 'is the best on the market to keep you dry, while not making you sweat' Bull...shit!... But guess what... Not that I mind.

Do you know why I don't mind, doing this five days a week... It doesn't bother me as I know that when I get home at 6:26PM, I will be going to be bed with my beautiful husband and that on the 27th of every month I get my hard earned money (That the tax man has already dipped into). Regardless... Money that I have earned.

I am not going to lie... I am tired, I am worn out, and yes I am aching all over... somedays I even feel dizzy and feel I'm going to faint. This isn't bought on by feeling lethargic from sitting and watching TV all day, or waiting in line at the job centre pretending I have been looking for work... I am exhausted because I have been challenged today, because I am a worker, and proud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.