Missycat

By Missycat

Derelict Thursday

A week or so ago, I drove past this hut owned by the Girl Guiding Association and was saddened to see its state of dereliction.  Today I had the chance to go back to blip it for the challenge.  While I was taking my shots a young woman came past and asked if I knew what had happened to it.  She explained that last year a Romanian family had been squatting there and after their eviction the building was partly demolished to prevent their return. Now the charity will be able to sell the land to raise funds.

I am sorry to see this building reduced to this state and no longer used for Guides and Brownie meetings as it was for so many years.  Both my daughters went here and we have many fond memories of various meetings and events held here by their Brownie troop - happy days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.