MonoMonday 55 Bridge

Today did not turn out at all as planned.  I had intended ( after a 3 hour webinar on Payroll Year End/Auto Enrolment  - thrilling) to go out and blip a bridge over the nearby river.  Later we planned to entertain friends for dinner.  This morning I received a call from Violet's Mum to say that since last night all 3 of them had gone down with an horrendous D & V bug. Yet again their doctor's surgery was unable to offer even advice over the phone, even though we were especially worried about Violet, so recently discharged from hospital.
They held on while I plodded through my webinar and then I went over to offer what help I could.  By the time I left them this evening, Violet was looking very cheery and had no signs of the dehydration we dreaded. Her Mum and Dad were not so good, but managing and recovering  slowly.  And so to my blip: very conveniently Mr MC and my son play Bridge every Tuesday  and of course have all the paraphernalia required.  They offered me a charming vintage Bridge set, in which I placed cards featuring  Picasso paintings.  Behind is a card holder displaying what I am assured is a Very Bad Hand  which is what I felt Violet and her Mum and Dad were dealt today. Time for some Good Luck I think!

Thank you once again to JoanneInOz for hosting this week's challenge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.