Journey Through Time

By Sue

Buh-bye

Have a safe trip.  It's an amazing thing, flying around in airplanes.  When everything goes okay, that is.  I have a lot of airplane stories from my youth and young adulthood, when I flew back and forth from Oregon to Southern California after my parents were divorced and when I lived in Hawaii and did that trip a few times.  It was fun and an adventure.  It may still be an adventure, but it sure isn't much fun anymore, although our airplane trips have been few and far between for most of our married life. I pity anybody who has to fly regularly because of their job. 

Today I fixed my hair, put on actual makeup, fussed and fiddled and tried to make myself into a semi-glamourous supermodel - okay, not quite that, but you know...respectable looking senior citizen...as I had to go and renew my driver's license and the most horrible thing about that whole procedure is the dreaded photo that they slap on that little card that lets you drive legally.  I might as well not have bothered with all my fussing because I still look like I'm on the 10 most wanted list.  No, I take that back, THEIR photos are better than mine.  What a horrible experience and a horrible image.  And what they give you now, is a black and white temporary card until the real one shows up IN LIVING COLOR. Oh, I'm sure that will improve things a whole lot.  Not.  

After that I went to Michael's Arts and Crafts store and finally decided on how to frame this lovely photo that I got from Tussock Tails.  It's one of Lake Wanaka and the famous willow (is that what it is?) that is in the water of the lake most of the time.  It's such an iconic image of the South Island of New Zealand and I just love it.  Bill and David are footing the bill for the frame for my birthday present.  I can't wait to get it.  It's going to be GORGEOUS!  

Gotta go finish dinner.  See ya.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.